New and Completely Stuck With This

So I’m very new to this, but I’ve played with code a bit before. What I’m trying to accomplish seems simple, but I’m stuck.

I have a virtual switch triggering an Alexa Routine. For example, to turn all my lights on. The problem is, I can’t get the button to recognize whether the device is already in a state. ie: An All Lights On switch that gets left “on” after using it, so I have to effectively turn it off (which does nothing) and then turn it back on for it to work.

I want the button to reset without triggering another function, or to turn on automatically if the lights are turned on through a voice command instead.

Even if I had 4 different “scene” switches, and when I clicked another one, the first turns off and the scene changes.

Is this possible?

1 Like

You can make a virtual momentary switch if I understand correctly. Or add in a rule that switches your virtual switch off after 2 seconds after it turns on.

As I understand it, every time you run the routine, the lights go on and then off, so above should work for that.
If you want the status for the lights, I used to do this by make any of all the lights a trigger, let it wait 2 seconds and if after the 2 seconds all the lights are ON, it would change a variable I could use to show all the lights being on.
Adding that variable tile to a dashboard and making the tap action a rule that triggers the virtual switch, you have a tile that shows the status and operates the scene.

You can also use that variable to check and use in a rule to turn it off when you change scene.

1 Like

Man… that’s exactly what I needed. I knew it seemed simple I just could not for the life of me make it work. I really hadn’t played with rules or variables yet. That’s definitely my problem :joy:

Thank you!

1 Like

Rules and variables are a bit of a rabbit hole. I’ve been replacing rules still after a few months, just because I came up with a more logical or easier way to make them.