Array Variables / Expressions

Hi all! I’m new to Sharptools and am looking for some pointers.

I would like to create a role that rotates the color/hue of an LED light through 4 different hues that represent Red Blue Green and Orange. There is no way that I can tell to define a variable that is an array of integers via the “Manage Variables” feature. So in my rule I set a variable like this:

Variable: $colorArray
Expression: [$colorHueBlue, $colorHueGreen, $colorHueOrange, $colorHueRed ]

And it does successfully evaluate to : [71,33,11,0]

Now to cycle through these values I have an incrementing counter ($cylingCounter) that I then apply a modulus to give me a value between 0 and 3 to pick the color.

Here is where I can’t seem to get the expression correct… any suggestions?

Variable: $colorHueValue
Expression: $colorArray[ $cyclingCounter % 4 ] <=== doesn’t work

It seems like it doesn’t recognize $colorArray as an array…even count($colorArray) doesn’t work

Is there a better approach?

Thanks!

What is the type of the $colorArray variable? I suspect it was created as a Text variable, so the expression is ultimately getting implicitly serialized to a string.

You can also explicitly serialize and deserialize data to a string. If the variable type is Text, then values will implicitly be serialized to a string, but it will stay a string after being written to a Text variable. If you want to parse it back into array/object format for use within an expression, you must do that explicitly within the expression.

Serialize/Deserialize

Under the General String Manipulation section of the General Functions help article, you’ll find the functions stringify() and parseJson() which you can use to explicitly serialize and deserialize object data to/from a string.

So you could do something like the following if you want to explicitly serialize the data (though the implicit serialization may be fine for your needs):

• Set Variable $colorArray to expression: