Would like to show the next Sunrise and Sunset on my Dashboard

I have not found a way to show the next Sunrise or Sunset on my Dashboard. I do have Home Assistant that I have linked to SharpTools if that helps.

I am still new to all this and just don’t know where to start looking for this info to get this working.

Any help that you all can provide to get this accomplished is greatly appreciated.

Can you share some more details about how you want to use the sunrise and sunset?

Custom Tile

I put together a quick Custom Tile that loads the sunrise and sunset from Open Meteo. You can import the Custom Tile using this link:

:arrow_down_small: Import Sunset/Sunrise Custom Tile

After importing the tile, scroll down and press save, then add it to your dashboard from the Other → Custom Tile section. You’ll need to edit the tile on your dashboard and configure it with your latitude and longitude (which you can find on something like LatLong.net)

Rule Expression

You could create a rule that runs every morning and calls the new sunset() and sunrise() expression methods that I just put together for this.

The benefit of this approach is you can use the sunrise and/or sunset time on your dashboard and in your rules.

Here’s a few different snippets showing how you might use this

Today’s Sunrise

formatDate(sunrise(), "LT")

Today’s Sunset

formatDate(sunset(), "LT")

Tomorrow’s Sunrise

tomorrow = addDays(now(), 1)
formatDate(sunrise(tomorrow), "LT")

The Next Sunrise

tomorrow = addDays(now(), 1)
time = now() > sunrise() ? 
  sunrise(tomorrow) : 
  sunrise()
formatDate(time, "LT")

The last one reads as: "if it’s currently after today’s sunrise, then use tomorrow’s sunrise, otherwise use today’s.

Home Assistant