Tablet Power - AC to DC Converter Wiring

@josh or @Alex_Burrows or anyone. I have a fire HD10 and wall mount with 120/240V AC converter to 5v DC. But I am not an electrician and have no idea how to mount it. Does someone maybe have a link or install video or detailed step by step instructions?

I don’t have a video or link off hand, but what portion are you having questions about? I’d love to help ya out!
Once I have a better idea of which part, I can get you a detailed explanation

3 Likes

wiring the converter to a nearby outlet is my trouble not sure if it needs to go in another box and how it gets wired to the nearby outlet? also how big of an access hole will I need to wire it?

I’ve always had power nearby my installations. With the first tablet I mounted, the other side of the wall was a cabinet with power in the back, so I just ran the USB power through a grommet in the wall.

For other setups, I’ve had a switch nearby that I could source power from and I had enough room in the box to put the AC/DC converter and run just the low voltage a short distance in-wall to the tablet.

Fair warning that I am not an electrician, so this is just my experience and not professional advice. If I remember correctly, @Alex_Burrows is an electrician, so I’ll defer to him. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

OK. So the line side of the Converter needs to be in a box, but the 5v dc side can just be in the wall. Are you just wanting to mount the tablet with a little hole behind it for the 5v power cord?

2 Likes