Rule execution delay

I just started playing with the rule engine. I was wanting to move some of my simpler webcore pistons into Sharptools however I am getting prolonged delays, anywhere from 10-30 seconds, before execution.

Example.
Triggers
Motion sensor 1 or 2 changes to active
Motion sensor 1 or 2 changes to inactive

Flow
If any motion sensor is active
If light is off
Then turn on
Set variable true

If all motion sensors are inactive for 3 mins and variable is true
If light is on
Then turn off

If light switch changes to off
Then set variable false

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Hi @Terri, if you can post the Rule ID (the URL when you are editing this rule), I’d be more than happy to take a look of the exact rule setup and let you know what I find. I never had this prolonged delay so I’d be curious to know the details.

Meanwhile, I think the posted rule logic may not work as you desired for turning off the lights. When either of the motion changed to inactive, this rule will be triggered, but the if condition in the flow of checking if all motion sensors have stayed inactive for 3 minutes will never be satisfied because one of the motion sensors was just changed to inactive within milliseconds.

See below for a quick rule example that I moved the “motion stayed inactive for 3 minutes” from if condition in the flow to the triggers section, and used the context variable to check the triggering event’s value, instead of having to query the motion sensor’s state. (Choose Variables → Context Variables → Event → Location/Device Event and then value.)

And it’s likely you don’t have to check the light’s on/off state before sending the command. Some lights simply ignore the on/off command if the lights are already at on/off state. You can do a quick test to send an “on” command to the light which is already on to find out. If so, you don’t need to query the lights’ state in the if condition, but just send out the desired on/off command.