Rule Engine - threeaxis

I am new to sharptools. I am trying to migrate my webcore pistons to sharptools. I have a garage door with a sensor on it. In webcore, I was able to use the position sensor data to trigger an event if the door was left open. It basically said if x>900 then… On sharptools I can see the option to use “threeaxis” in my if statement, but for the life of me I cannot figure out how to use that to replicate my experience in webcore. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Maybe I’m missing something, but SharpTools should be able to see the open/closed status of the door, right. So can’t you just do something like IF xx stays open for x minutes THEN . . . ?

Unfortunately, it’s not a garage door sensor. It’s a multi-sensor. I suppose I could always change the device type in smartthings, but that would get rid of the other functions of the sensor.

Ahh, I understand now. I use GoControls so the door sensor is part of the controller. You are using a separate 3-axis sensor and presumably a separate dry-contact relay.

I have some tilt sensors (but no 3-axis). They expose the “contact” as open or closed. I’m guessing the 3-axis doesn’t? Maybe switch or add a different tilt sensor?

My smartthings three axis multipurpose sensors have a setting in the app to treat them like tilt sensors. Its called “use on garage door”.

I have that turned on, but it didn’t change the behavior at all. I might try removing the device and adding it back in with an edge driver to smartthings to see if that changes things. I was going for a with around in sharptools since it worked in webcore, but I guess not.

One of the FAQs mentioned something about them dropping that setting. When I readded mine a few weeks ago it joined with the same groovy dth still but I haven’t tried any of the community drivers to see if they handle it.

Can you post a screenshot of the attributes that sensor exposes? Add the device as a trigger and drop down the Attribute box.

1 Like