Rule creation based off of location

Hello. I am new to the whole home automation thing, and very new to Sharptools. I have created several cool rules, utilizing the connection between my SmartThings hub and SharpTools. I am having trouble coming up with the right steps (maybe it’s not even possible) for a rule.

Both my phone and my wife’s phone are authorized within SmartThings, to be used for location. The location setting on both phones is such that SmartThings can use location “Always”. What I want to do is if I or my wife come home at the same time, or if one of us comes home while the other is still away , that certain lights will come on, but only if between 7:30pm & morning.

I tried a different “simple” rule using location, but it took almost 7 minutes for SharpTools to update my location as “Present”, which would be a problem for the rule I am trying to create above.

Thank you in advance for any help and time you can give.

Hi @Ridyn_2007, welcome to the community. The location (presence) updates slowly is somehow expected based on many SmartThings users’ experiences. Many SmartThings users choose to use Life360, which is a mobile app that you can download on your phone. Then you can use a community developed Life360 smartapp to bring Life360’s presence data to SmartThings. This particular way has been working very reliable and timely for me personally.

Here is the rule example based on your description, and please note that I changed the IF condition’s logic from ALL(AND) to ANY(OR) because once it passes the midnight, it is considered as the next day.

@James thank you. My wife and I do already have Life360 accounts. The integration was a bit more complicated than I was expecting, but I did find some code at GitHub, and integrated the smartapp code and device handler within IDE. Is that still the correct what to do it?

As far as the logic in SharpTools, I am trying to make it, where if my wife is already at home, the lights do nothing.