Question About Google Home Mini Music Controls on Home Assistant

I am new to ST and just built my first dashboard. I have connected my Google Home Mini through Home Assistant but can’t seem to get the next and previous tracks to work on the music tile. I am able to control the pause and play and it works fine on my Echo just not the mini. Any thoughts?

Can you try reauthorizing the Google Home Mini to SharpTools while you are actively playing some content on it?

If I remember correctly, there’s an interesting implementation with the Home Assistant Google Home Speaker integration where the next/previous track capability only shows up when the device is actively playing music when it is synced.

Thanks Josh, I tried to reauthorize while content is playing and it’s still not working.

Can you clarify what’s happening?

Sure, I added the device tile to the dashboard for the mini. Music plays and I am able to pause and start the device but the next track and previous track buttons are not working. When pressed it says the command is sent but continues to play the current track. When I click the adjust button I get the same issue. Pause and Play work but not next and previous tracks. This all works with echo not with the mini.

Interesting. I’m not experiencing the same thing with my Google Home speakers connected to Home Assistant.

The next/previous buttons call the standard media_previous_track and media_next_track services in Home Assistant. Here’s a snippet of my Add On logs for the last click of the ‘previous’ button in the video above:

2023-12-11 09:56:52 info: Received command call_service from SharpTools.io.
2023-12-11 09:56:52 debug: Received command. {"entityId":"media_player.upstairs_spare_room","type":"call_service","data":{"domain":"media_player","service":"media_previous_track"}}
2023-12-11 09:56:52 debug: Converting service command for domain media_player and service media_previous_track