Play sound on Fire tablets

Hi - I am new to SharpTools and converting tasks that were performed by Webcore over to SharpTools to run on my SmartThings system. I have five wall mounted Fire tablets and when doors open I would like SharpTools to play a chime and then speak ‘Front door open’. I can see the ‘speak’ command in the rules engine and the Fire tablets appear in the device list, but I cannot see a way to play an MP3 file on the tablet.
Can someone point me in the right direction?

Hi Paul-
Welcome to the community and thanks for posting! What device handler or driver are you using for interacting with your Fire tablets?

Thanks for the quick reply. I am using the Fully Kiosk Browser Device Type Handler. I think I added this in Groovy but seems to have ported over to the new SmartThings update OK. I can locate it in SmartThings and have it play a ‘identify’ sound and I can have the tablet speak using a SmartThings routine. For example say ‘Front door open’ when triggered by the front door sensor.

Paul

Thanks for the additional details. The Groovy driver will eventually die when SmartThings completely shuts down Groovy this quarter. I put together an Edge Driver for Fully Kiosk devices for SharpTools Premium members (as a personal side project). If you end up upgrading to premium, ping me and I can send you the details.

Unfortunately, since the Fully Kiosk Controller DTH implemented the playSound() command as a custom command without using a custom capability, it’s not available in SmartThings’ next-gen APIs. As an alternative to the Groovy DTH from the community or the Edge Driver that I put together, you might be able to use the community developed Web Requestor Driver to send the appropriate request to the Fully Kiosk API directly.