Help with evaluating variables and functions

I am new to SharpTools and cannot figure out how to make this code work:

For the “setColor” action, how do I make SharpTools recognize $SelectdHueNumber as a variable rather than text? I have tried adding {} and {{}} on either side of the variable but the text “$SelectdHueNumber” always gets sent rather than the number selected by the pickRandom command.

I have also tried using {{ random(0,99) }} and SharpTools doesn’t evaluate the function, it just sends the text "random(0,99).

Keep in mind that the {{ inline expression syntax}} format only works within String arguments. It won’t work in objects and for numbers, you would just pick the variable directly.

Have you tried using the setHue() command and pick the $SelectdHueNumber variable directly? Keep in mind that your variable must be a numeric type for this to work as the setHue() command expects a numeric argument (so other variable types like text will get filtered out from the picker)

One other minor thing which may or may not be an issue depending on the use case, but the pickRandom() as you have it configured is picking a string from your list. If it’s being saved to a numeric variable, it’s not a huge deal as the system will automatically try to coerce it to a number and all of those strings should be coercable, but you could also pickRandom from a set of numbers. (Again the variable type you’re saving to IS important)

pickRandom([0, 5, 10, 15, 20])

(Note the lack of wrapping ‘tick’ marks which indicate text rather than a number)

I cannont get the setHue() command to change color of the lamp. I have tried with just inputting numbers and lamp color will not change.

The setColor(“hue”:xx,“saturation”:xx) command works if I use numbers for “xx”, but not if I enter a variable or a function for “xx”.

I removed the tick marks from the pickRandom command and ensured $SelectdHueNumber is setup as a numeric variable and nothing changed.