Duplicate Notifications

Hi guys,

I’m new to SharpTools having recently arrived from WebCore land. I’m in the middle of migrating my logic over the SharpTools and have come across a strange issue with duplicate Pushover notifications from a single event.

The rule I’m noticing this issue on is detecting the arrival of my wife (when she arrives home I’m notified twice). The way this particular logic works is:

1. ST app on wife’s iPhone is setup as presence sensor with automation to turn a simulated switch on when she arrives home, and off when she leaves home.
  2. SharpTools uses the simulated switch as a trigger and sets a variable to TRUE when the simulated switch turns on, and FALSE when the simulated switch turns off. Logging shows that this runs twice.
  3. SharpTools sends a notification (to both of us) saying ‘arrived’ when the variable changes to TRUE, and ‘departed’ when the variable changes to FALSE.

I had the same behaviour (double notification) when the notification was tied to state of the switch. I thought the switch might be double-bouncing so thought I’d tie the notification to the state of the variable (thinking that something can’t become TRUE or FALSE twice in a row).

Other notifications from other pistons are only coming through once, and I’ve also sent a test message from the Pushover dashboard which again comes through once.

Any help would be appreciated.

PRESENCE DETECTION:

PRESENCE ACTIONS:

SMARTTHINGS IDE reports only a single event:

and if I check the SmartThings notification log on my phone again I see a single event:

With a normal “changes” trigger, the rule is still triggered each time the variable value is set.

If you use a state-stays trigger, it will “debounce” the event and only trigger when the state changes to your desired state.