Dashboard size differences on mobile

I am just starting out with Sharptools but have enjoyed it so far. I designed a dashboard for my Samsung S8+ and then decided to give my wife access with her S9. Annoyingly the dashboard doesn´t translate well to her slightly smaller screen.

My layout is for 120px which looks bigger on the S9, but 80px shows up similarily on both. Any idea if this can be fixed somehow ? Perhaps a 100px mode ?

Here are some screenshots on the S8+:

120px

80px

On the Samsung S9:

120px

80px

Based on what you are describing, it sounds like the resolution of the devices is slightly different (I thought they were the same, but perhaps there’s something different about how the phone sees the available resolution). Usually in the case of devices with different resolutions, the recommended solution is to design a dashboard that targets each device.

If the devices are close enough in size, you may be able to target a resolution that is close enough between them (as you alluded to), but usually the sizes are different enough that it wont work.

Keep in mind there is a tile size of Custom if you want to try other sizes (like 100px as you mentioned):

1 Like

Aww, come on ! How could I miss that option ? :sweat_smile:

Changing the tile to 110px did the trick. Thank you very much :slight_smile:

EDIT: Not quite related, but it seems that when the weather tile should show minus degrees centigrade, that it does not update. Could this be a bug ? Not sure if that is the case also for Fahrenheit ?

1 Like

What platform and device are you using for weather?

If it’s SmartThings, it looks like they’ve sunset the WeatherUndeground APIs that they’ve been using, so if you’re using a custom device handler it may need to be updated with the new APIs.