Complete noob in need of some pointers

When I run the rule pictured below the light won’t turn on but if I remove the color picker and just have the ON command it works. Something is obviously not getting through my thick skull, but what?

Furthermore, I would like to have the light cycle through different colors when the same HTTP request is called. Something like this:

IF light = off THEN turn on and make it green
IF light = green THEN make it red
IF light = red THEN make it blue
IF light = blue THEN make it green

Would it even be possible? And if so, how?

Do I have to nest the IFs like this?

Or can i just stack them on top of eachother like this?

Would greatly appreciate it if some kind soul could help me understand a little bit better, I’m trying to get the hang of the syntax and all that but after reading forumposts for a couple of hours I can’t even tell a curly bracket from a square anymore.

Hi Pierre-
Am I understanding correctly that you toggled the ‘Advanced’ switch on and added the color argument to the on() command?

Keep in mind that the commands need to match what your hub is reporting or your hub will likely reject the command. For setting the color of a device, you would typically use the setColor() command… or setHue() and setSaturation() individually.

@Nezmo is doing something similar. They’re using the new Expressions feature along with an expression similar to:

pickRandom([0,34,13,58])

Every time the expression runs, this randomly picks one of those numbers which are each ‘hue’ values. The next step in the rule could be a setHue($myRandomHue) command.

That’s going to depend on the logic. If each of the conditions can be impacted by each other, then having them sequentially won’t work.

For example, if you have something that says:

IF light is off
THEN turn on

IF light is on
THEN turn off